Praise Ohanwe
2 min readOct 22, 2019

Every writer should adopt this!

Yes o I will say it again.

But wait, adopt what?

Lemme tell you one small story.

Sometime ago I read a book by (author and book’s name withheld for a particular reason) and oh boy I was blown away.

Hint 1: the author is a woman.

The book centered around a war plagued land(in Nigeria) and the perils the citizens of the east faced during the war season.

Well I will not give an in depth dissertation on the book but it goes without saying that the protagonist, who was also a lady, had a twin sister who did not quite like her at first, family troubles.

But as the story unfolded the duo became inseparable especially as the protagonist had to relocate to another city to go live with her twin sister, because of the war.

Things seemed to even out for sometime until hunger forces the protagonist’s twin sister to dare something dangerious; go to trade across enemy borders, which was called igba afia attack.

For me, this is where the plot gets intriguing because we do not see the return of the lady who went to trade even till the book’s end.

We were not told whether or not she died and that’s it! The masterpiece was left for the reader to imagine a million things that could have become of the protagonist’s twin sister, Kainene.

This is what I think every writer should adopt; the use of suspense to spice up their work.

Because I desperately wanted to know what became of Kainene, I helplessly flipped the pages of that book till I was done reading it. With that one carefully crafted suspenseful fragment of her work, the author had her audience hooked till the end.

Suspense, if used well, can help you grab and retain the attention of your readers. I employ it, works like magic.

Try it out writer, thank me later! 😎

I hope you caught my drift tonight and as a pop trivia question, what is the name of the book I spoke of and what is the author’s name?

The winner gets…😁

#writeheart

#WWF.